Faculty Council

The Faculty Council counts seven elected members from the group of university lecturers and two elected members each from the students, the academic mid-level staff and the technical and administrative staff. The members with voting rights are organised in status groups.
As a rule, one member of the doctoral students' representation participates in the meetings of the Faculty Council in an advisory capacity. The Faculty Council is chaired by the Dean or their representative in office.


According to the faculty council's regulations, the members meet at least once a month during the lecture period in a meeting that is open to the public. It can exclude the public for individual agenda items and allow guests to speak.

Personnel and personal examination matters must be dealt with in closed session.

Faculty council's regulations [PDF]


Meeting dates

Sommer semester 2023

  • 12th April 2023
  • 10th May 2023
  • 7th June 2023
  • 5th July 2023

Time and place of the meetings

Starting from 14:15
Room A001 |  building 3403 | Appelstraße 11a

If the meeting is conducted digitally via video conference, information is provided accordingly.

Doctoral students: proposals to the council

Members of the faculty council

Lists with personal details and contact addresses are generated automatically from the staff and organisation directory at Leibniz University Hannover (EPV). This is the central point for the recording and administration of all data and addresses.

Faculty of Natural Sciences: contact details of persons, institutes, facilities as well as committees, officers, etc.