Faculty Council

The Faculty Council counts seven elected members from the group of university lecturers and two elected members each from the students, the academic mid-level staff and the technical and administrative staff. The members with voting rights are organised in status groups.
As a rule, one member of the doctoral students' representation participates in the meetings of the Faculty Council in an advisory capacity. The Faculty Council is chaired by the Dean or their representative in office.


According to the faculty council's regulations, the members meet at least once a month during the lecture period in a meeting that is open to the public. It can exclude the public for individual agenda items and allow guests to speak.

Personnel and personal examination matters must be dealt with in closed session.

Faculty council's regulations [PDF]


Meeting dates

Winter semester 2023/24

  • (4th October 2023) postponement to 27th September 2023
  • 8th November 2023
  • 6th December 2023
  • 10th January 2024

Time and place of the meetings

Starting from 14:15
Room A001 |  building 3403 | Appelstraße 11a

If the meeting is conducted digitally via video conference, information is provided accordingly.

Doctoral students: proposals to the council

Members of the faculty council

Lists with personal details and contact addresses are generated automatically from the staff and organisation directory at Leibniz University Hannover (EPV). This is the central point for the recording and administration of all data and addresses.

Faculty of Natural Sciences: contact details of persons, institutes, facilities as well as committees, officers, etc.